The Perfect Gift

Image

The best gift – adopting a pet. You can rescue an animal and add to the family.

One of the first purchases I made when I moved to Albany was Rajah. It was the best $75 I ever spent. (It has been a bit more since I’ve had her – BUT it has all been worth it).

Keep in mind, some shelters don’t even charge to adopt.

I remember the day like it was yesterday. I was so nervous. I grew up with pets, but I never officially owned one… you know like on my own. It is a responsibility and I was off-and-on about it all.

I wanted a cat. Why? A cat is more suitable for my crazy hours, but I wanted a cat that was declawed because I was scared it would scratch my furniture. At the time the animal shelter in Ballston Spa was the only shelter that had declawed cats, so I took a drive. I hung out with two declawed cats, and both of them weren’t very friendly. Rightfully so I guess, I mean if someone ripped my nails out, I probably wouldn’t be the happiest human being out on the market.

I took a stroll, aisle by aisle… and that’s when I saw my orange tiger. She was just lying there snoozing, not bothering anyone. I asked to play with her in the “get to know your possible new pet” room, and she was shedding like crazy. She was so nervous, but just continuously wanted to be pet and loved. I was in LOVE. I didn’t care that she had claws, she was the sweetest thing in the world, and I was sold.

The shelter told me her owner was moving across country and couldn’t take her with him. She had only been at the shelter for a day. It was the perfect rescue.

Right away I knew I was going to name her Rajah (Yes, after Princess Jasmine’s tiger). She’s a mini version – only a girl… it works. She’s just starting to get use to her new name. She’s 2-years-old and loves life. I spoil the heck out of her… she makes it easy.

When people meet Rajah they compare her to a lap dog. She just likes to hang out and snuggle. She is so well behaved… KUDOS to the owner who had her for 2-years. SHE CAN EVEN USE THE TOILET (like Mr. Jinks!) The only problem is she will drink it after she uses it, so I just keep the lid closed.

Adopting Rajah was the best decision I could have ever made. She’s my partner in crime and nowadays things are just a little less lonely.

In the T.V. bizz we move a lot. We leave everything, including loved ones behind for a town we don’t know filled with strangers. It is an amazing industry because it forces you out of your comfort zone, and your forced to see new places and meet new friends and do things you might not have ever done before, but it gets lonely every now and then.

Rajah fills the gap.

I feel bad for people who are allergic to animals, and I feel bad for people who cannot truly appreciate how special and awesome animals are. I feel even worse for all of the beautiful pups and kittys out there dying to be a part of a family.

Have I sold you yet? Slap a bow on it and call it a day, I promise it will be worth it.

Have you ever adopted an animal? What kind of animal? Is he/she still with you? I can’t wait to hear your adoption stories. Feel free to share pictures too!!

Happy Monday everyone!

P.S. Every Tuesday there is a pet of the week segment on CBS6… keep an eye out, you may just spot the perfect pet for you.

Leave a Reply

